The Council

May 9th, 2017

The Council

The Council is the executive body and governing authority of the University and comprises the Vice-Chancellor, who is the ex-officio Chairman, the Deans of Faculties, two elected representatives of the Senate and persons of distinction in educational, professional, commercial, industrial, scientific or administrative spheres appointed by the University Grants Commission in such numbers as to exceed the aforementioned membership from the University by one.

Members of the Council


Prof. D M Semasinghe : Vice-Chancellor (Chairman)

Prof. Lakshman Senevirathne : Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Prof. J M D Ariyaratne : Dean / Faculty of Graduate Studies

Prof. A.H.M.H. Abayarathne : Dean / Faculty of Social Sciences

Prof. N.R. de Silva : Dean / Faculty of Medicine

Dr. P.G. Wijayarathna : Dean / Faculty of Computing and Technology

Prof. B M Jayawardhana : Dean / Faculty of Science

Dr.P N D Fernando : Dean / Faculty of Commerce & Management Studies

Prof. R M P Patric Rathnayake : Dean / Faculty of Humanities

UGC Appointees
Prof. S.T.B. Amunugama
Prof. D.M.A. Dissanayake
Ven. Ambanwala Gnanaloka Thero
Mr. W.M.A.S. Iddawela
Mr. Asela Kulugampitiya
Prof. S.P. Lamabadusuriya
Mr. E.P. Donnet Nandasinghe
Mr. Prithi Perera
Mr. P.M.P. Perera
Mr. Nishan Premathiratne
Vidya Nidhi Prof. W.M.T.B. Wanninayaka
Mr. H.M.N. Warakaulle

Senate Nominees:
Prof. N.A.K.P.J. Seneviratne
Prof. P.M.C. Thilakeratne

In Attendance:
Mr. W.M. Karunaratne : Registrar / Secretary to the Council

On Invitation:
Ms. U.T.M.I.D. Tennekoon : Bursar