The Council

மே 9th, 2017

The Council is the executive body and governing authority of the University and comprises the Vice-Chancellor, who is the ex-officio Chairman, the Deans of Faculties, two elected representatives of the Senate and persons of distinction in educational, professional, commercial, industrial, scientific or administrative spheres appointed by the University Grants Commission in such numbers as to exceed the aforementioned membership from the University by one.

Members of the Council

Chairman of the Council Professor D. M. Semasinghe
Deans of Faculties
Humanities Professor Lakshman Senevirathne
Social Sciences Professor A. H. M. H. Abayarathne
Science Professor N.A.K.P.J. Seneviratne
Medicine Professor (Mrs) N. R. De Silva
Commerce & Management Studies Dr D. M. Semasinghe
Graduate Studies Professor Manique Gunesekera

Senate Nominees

  • Prof. M.J.S. Wijeyaratne
  • Prof. P.S. Wijesinghe
  • UGC Appointees
  • Mr. A.M.P. Amarakoon
  • Dr. Nanda Amarasekera
  • Mr. Nimal Bopage
  • Professor (Mrs). Kusuma Karunaratne
  • Ms. D.M.S.D. Jayaratne
  • Mr. Gotabaya Jayaratne
  • Mr. L. J. Patrick Alexis Silva
  • Mr. J. J. Ratnasiri
  • Mr. A.D.K.M. Weerakkody
  • Mr. Gajaba Perera Gunawardena

Secretary to the Council

  • Mr. W. M. Karunaratne – Registrar

On Invitation

  • Mrs. U. T. M. I. D. Tennakoon – Bursar