The Council

August 7th, 2014

The Council is the executive body and governing authority of the University and comprises the Vice-Chancellor, who is the ex-officio Chairman, the Deans of Faculties, two elected representatives of the Senate and persons of distinction in educational, professional, commercial, industrial, scientific or administrative spheres appointed by the University Grants Commission in such numbers as to exceed the aforementioned membership from the University by one.

Members of the Council

Chairman of the Council Professor Sunanda Madduma Bandara
Deans of Faculties  
Humanities Professor Lakshman Senevirathne
Social Sciences Professor A. H. M. H. Abayarathne
Science Professor N.A.K.P.J. Seneviratne
Medicine Professor (Mrs) N. R. De Silva
Commerce & Management Studies Dr D. M. Semasinghe
Graduate Studies Professor J.M.D. Ariyarathne

Senate Nominees

  • Professor. M.J.S. Wijeyaratne
  • Professor. P.S. Wijesinghe

UGC Appointees

  • Dr. Nanda Amarasekera  
  • Mr. Sirinimal Lakdusinghe
  • Dr. Gamini Dela Bandara                                                          
  • Mr. D.B. Wijekoon
  • Dr. (Mrs) Ajitha Tennakoon
  • Prof. J.B. Dissanayake  
  • Prof. S.T.B. Amunugama                                                       
  • Mr. W.M.A.S. Asela Iddawela              
  • Mr. Prithi Perera           
  • Mr. D.M.A. Dissanayake                    

Secretary to the Council

  • Mr. W. M. Karunaratne – Registrar

On Invitation

  • Mrs. U. T. M. I. D. Tennakoon – Bursar