Google Translate Widget by Infofru

Author Site Reviewresults

The Council

Governing the university to reach the eminence..

The Council is the executive body and governing authority of the University and comprises the Vice-Chancellor, who is the ex-officio Chairman, the Deans of Faculties, two elected representatives of the Senate and persons of distinction in educational, professional, commercial, industrial, scientific or administrative spheres appointed by the University Grants Commission in such numbers as to exceed the aforementioned membership from the University by one.

Members of the Council


  • Vice-Chancellor (Chairman) (Prof. D M Semasinghe)
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Prof. Lakshman Senevirathne)
  • Dean / Faculty of Graduate Studies ( Prof. J M D Ariyaratne)
  • Dean / Faculty of Social Sciences (Prof. A.H.M.H. Abayarathne )
  • Dean / Faculty of Medicine (Prof. Prashantha Wijesinghe)
  • Dean / Faculty of Computing and Technology (Dr. P.G. Wijayarathna)
  • Dean / Faculty of Science (Prof. B M Jayawardhana)
  • Dean / Faculty of Commerce & Management Studies (Dr.P N D      
  • Fernando)
  • Dean / Faculty of Humanities (Prof. R M P Patric Rathnayake )

UGC Appointees

  • Prof. S.T.B. Amunugama
  • Prof. D.M.A. Dissanayake
  • Ven. Ambanwala Gnanaloka Thero
  • Mr. W.M.A.S. Iddawela
  • Mr. Asela Kulugampitiya
  • Prof. S.P. Lamabadusuriya
  • Mr. E.P. Donnet Nandasinghe
  • Mr. Prithi Perera
  • Mr. P.M.P. Perera
  • Mr. Nishan Premathiratne
  • Vidya Nidhi Prof. W.M.T.B. Wanninayaka
  • Mr. H.M.N. Warakaulle

Senate Nominees:

  • Prof. N.A.K.P.J. Seneviratne
  • Prof. P.M.C. Thilakeratne

In Attendance:

  • Mr. W.M. Karunaratne : Registrar / Secretary to the Council


On Invitation:

  • Ms. U.T.M.I.D. Tennekoon : Bursar

Connect with us

University of Kelaniya, Kelaniya 11600, Sri Lanka

  • dummy+094 (112) 903 903

  • dummy+094 (112) 913 857

  • dummy


Enter your email and we'll send you more information

© Copyright reserved by University of Kelaniya - Sri Lanka. All rights reserved by the Web Revamping Team and ICT Centre of UoK.